silikonopia.blogg.se

Topaz sharpen ai workflow
Topaz sharpen ai workflow







  1. Topaz sharpen ai workflow software#
  2. Topaz sharpen ai workflow trial#
  3. Topaz sharpen ai workflow iso#
  4. Topaz sharpen ai workflow windows#

Surprisingly, it seems to work quite well! A 16bit DNG from an 8bit jpeg!! At first sight, such a program seems to claim the impossible (put in lots of 16bit-size accurate photo detail that was either missing from an original camera jpeg or was lost when converting a RAW file to an 8bit jpeg ).

Topaz sharpen ai workflow trial#

but I have been distracted with the trial version of Topaz jpeg-to-RAW converter. So far I haven't bought or even downloaded the trial Topaz noise-reduction or sharpening products. My take-away from the various posts is that there is no absolutely definitive best-method or position in an editing sequence for Topaz operations but that experimentation with particular kinds of camera images is the right way to discover a means to best-effects from the various LR/PS/Topaz processes. I'll later send a Tiff back to LR for final work, final crop, and export.Ī belated thanks to all who have posted for your experience and advice with Topaz. In other layers, I may do other PS work that I think is better than I can do in LR, such as object removal, cloning, etc. Sometimes I'll (creatively) sharpen differently in different areas of a photo, and using PS layers and masks makes this easy. If I am going to use Sharpen AI, then I minimize the sharpening done in DeNoise AI. In PS, I will use Denoise AI at an appropriate level in a layer.

Topaz sharpen ai workflow iso#

That said, my general workflow is to use Lightroom to do the raw conversion (99% of the time), do some basic tonal adjustments in LR, let LR do some capture sharpening 50% of the time I let LR do noise reduction at a level I would use for a ISO 100 shot - then I send a Tiff over to Photoshop. I am generally happy with the LR results on the others, including noise reduction. Generally, I'll only do a lot of work on the "best" including use of Topaz. In LR I'll sort photos into good - better - best. For instance, not all my lenses need Sharpen AI. So, you need to make decisions based on the camera ISO, resultant noise, and lens. According to the Topaz technical support that I have discussed this with, the sharpening in DeNoise AI is different from Sharpen AI, and the denoise routine in Sharpen AI is different from Denoise AI. I have run many photos through both Topaz Denoise AI and Sharpen AI. There can be a lot of subtle detail that is very photo dependent and camera sensor sensitive. This can be a complex question, but I'll give you my simple answer. Moreover, the RAW images are only little 20Mp items from a Lumix FZ1000 or 12Mb from an Olympus TG6.

Topaz sharpen ai workflow windows#

PS Processing power is not too much of an issue, with a fat GPU and CPU eager for work within the Windows PC. What do you Topaz/LR users prefer as a workflow and why?Īny advice and further insights/corrections to improve my understanding will be welcome.

topaz sharpen ai workflow topaz sharpen ai workflow

followed by a final export into an 8-bit jpeg for general use, sharing, sending to others and so forth. On the other hand, I generally do export LR-edited RAW files as PSDs for any final tweaks in Photoshop. Using Topaz products as plug-ins within LR would be more convenient - but at the cost of losing the RAW file, if the Topaz results (along with any LR edits) can only be exported/used as a TIFF or PSD file. If I have this right, would it therefore be best to use Topaz first, on my from-camera RAW files, as a stand-alone noise-reduction "editor", followed by procesing in Lightroom on the resultant DNG file to do the usual things I might do to a RAW file in Lightroom to improve the photo? As I understand it, doing noise reduction as a first step will give a better quality (DNG) file for LR edits, which edits will have a greatly reduced tendency to exagerate noise, since noise will have already been eliminated or reduced.?

Topaz sharpen ai workflow software#

There's already a thread for this but it seems to be discussing the Topaz noise reduction software used as a plug-in rather than as a stand-alone product.Īm I right, though, in thinking that use of the Topaz products as plug-ins to LR means that any original RAW file must be exported as a TIFF or other non-RAW file format following processing by the Topaz plug-in? The alternative seems to be to use a Topaz product as a stand-alone editor first, which can then have a DNG file as the export following the noise reduction (or whatever else Topaz processing does).









Topaz sharpen ai workflow